Sign in / Join

IMAGE EXPO: Readers will love Skottie Young’s I HATE FAIRYLAND

80
0
Share:

READERS WILL LOVE SKOTTIE YOUNG’S I HATE FAIRYLAND

Snarky, salty Gertrude is trapped in a rainbow world of bunnies and gumdrops… which makes her want to take a battle axe to anything that moves…

Once upon a time a little girl named Gertrude went away to the magical world of Fairyland… and was stuck there for almost thirty years…

Bestselling artist Skottie Young (Fortunately, the Milk, Rocket Raccoon, Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz) and Jean-Francois Beaulieu (Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz) would like to introduce you to Gertrude, a snarky, slightly deranged 40-year-old with a battle axe who happens to be trapped in a Shirley Temple-esque body and confined to the technicolor funworld that is Fairyland. I HATE FAIRYLAND is an all-new series full of morbid, dark humor and snark—perfect for fans of Invader Zim and Fight Club.

I Hate Fairyland started from me reading countless children’s books to my son and wondering ‘how do these kids in these fantasy worlds NOT want to kill every character they come across?’ Or characters in kids shows that have to listen to talking maps sing songs consisting of only the word I’M THE MAP over and over and over,” explained Young.  “And from that, Gertrude was born. I’ve been driving my friends nuts for years with the different versions of this tale. Jason Howard probably wants to kill me with a giant battle axe for the number of hours I’ve made him listen to me brainstorm.”

In I HATE FAIRYLAND, Riddling Slugs, Giants made of Pillows in the Quiltlands, and camping out on Ice Cream Island may seem like fun when you’re eight years old. But to Gert, a forty-year-old trapped in a child’s body, it just makes her want to take a giant battle axe and chop up anyone or thing that tries to keep her from finding the way home.

“It’s been apparent for a while now that Skottie is one of the most amazing artists working in comics today,” said Eric Stephenson, Publisher at Image Comics. “But it’s only recently that he’s been letting the world in on his most carefully kept secret: He’s one hell of a writer, too. It’s a real privilege to publish this, but more than anything, it’s just a thrill to be able to watch as this project takes shape.”

I HATE FAIRYLAND will hack its way into stores in Fall 2015.

 

Share: