By Tom King, Clay Mann, and Tomeu Morey

For years Batman: Mask of the Phantasm has been a favorite among many Bat fans. Now the Phantasm is finally brought to the comic page in an exciting new team up series in Batman Catwoman #1. Andrea Beaumont returns to Gotham after years of self-imposed exile in the aftermath in what seems to be the same sequence of events as the popular animated film. Andrea is trying to find her son, Andrew, after he has gone missing in Gotham and turns to the dark knight to find him. The story unfolds to where we will surely see the return of the Phantasm soon and a mystery unfolding.

The relationship between Batman and Catwoman can be one of the greatest relationships in comics, given to the right hands. Well thankfully, Tom King is here to give the tender and action packed moments that his couple can bring. This particular issue focuses mainly on Catwoman at various different points in her life. This can be a little jarring at first and the reader may need a moment to realize when the time period has changed. Once the reader has acclimated, they will soon see how Tom King is beginning to build up how all of these different time periods are going to tie in to each other. The most interesting of which may be the far future that has been referenced before in Tom King’s run on Batman. It is a good sign when the reader ends the first issue of a Batman comic with more questions than answers because it shows that a great big mystery is ahead of them to slowly see how Batman and Catwoman will solve it.



The art in this issue has Clay Mann on the art and cover with Tomeu Morey as the colorist. This issue looks fantastic from cover to cover with plenty of atmospheric elements to set the tone. Upon opening the cover for Batman Catwoman #1, the reader is presented with a Wayne Manor that works as a dark sort of Advent calendar to present each issue. The back cover then works as the treat upon opening that door which is a very nice touch. The art also does a fantastic job on keeping pace with King in the consistent shifts in time. Each character looks different in each of their different time periods, but the reader can quickly ascertain who it is because the art team does a great job of portraying certain physical and facial characteristics to make the characters unique and distinguishable.

Fans of Batman and Catwoman’s romantic relationship, Batman: The Animated Series, Tom King’s run on Batman, and just Batman mystery lovers will surely enjoy Batman Catwoman #1 thoroughly. There are plenty of nods and references to the other Batman stories before but this certainly feels like its own story and one that will likely be enjoyed by fans for years to come. Be sure to get this issue and follow along with the story!

8.0 10

Fans of Batman and Catwoman’s romantic relationship, Batman: The Animated Series, Tom King’s run on Batman, and just Batman mystery lovers will surely enjoy Batman Catwoman #1

Batman Catwoman #1

Be sure to get this issue and follow along with the story!

1
Score8.0
Reader Rating: ( 0 vote ) 0

About The Author Dom Berardi