A voice called from the other side. She answered.
#HillHouseComics: It’s OK if you need to scream.


Written by Laura Marks (Ray Donovan, The Expanse, The Good Fight) with art by iconic horror artist Kelley Jones (Batman & Dracula: Red Rain, Swamp Thing, The Sandman), colorist Michelle Madsen and letterer Rob Leigh, this six-issue miniseries from DC’s Hill House Comics combines the occult, ghosts, seances, possession, and revenge into a miniseries guaranteed to make you read it with the lights on.

In Daphne Byrne’s debut issue, set in Victorian-era New York, 14-year-old Daphne Byrne’s father has died, leaving her alone with a mother who’s consumed by grief. This combination makes her an easy target for a group of occultists that promise to help her communicate with her dead husband. Daphne’s rage and frustration for this sham begins to manifest as a strange and hungering presence within her. The needs and appetites of the entity she comes to know as “Brother” will be met, and Daphne may not be strong enough to stave him off…

And in a first look at the sophomore issue of this new Hill House Comics series, the spirit known as Brother has revealed himself to Daphne, and he wants only to help and protect her. But who, exactly, does Daphne need protection from? The cruelty of the other girls at school? Or the medium who seems to be taking her mother even further under her wing? Kelley Jones’ inks hint at the horrors to come…

Daphne Byrne will carry an Ages 17+ content descriptor.

Daphne Byrne #1 (of 6)
Written by Laura Marks
Art by Kelley Jones
Color by Michelle Madsen

Letters by Rob Leigh
Cover art by Gerald Jablonski
Variant Cover by Yasmin Putri
In Shops: Jan 08, 2020



Daphne Byrne #2 (of 6)
Written by Laura Marks
Art by Kelley Jones
Cover art by Piotr Jablonski
Variant Cover by Dan Quintana
In Shops: Feb 05, 2020


About The Author Contributor Profile

comments (0)

%d bloggers like this: