Sign in / Join

Hastings and Valiant Present “Comics College”

Share:

Hastings and Valiant Present “Comics College” – A Weekly Instructional Workshop Beginning January 30th!
Plus: Don’t Miss Your Chance to Illustrate Valiant’s Free Comic Book Day 2016 Hastings-Exclusive Cover with the Official “Comics College” Submission Contest!

image

This winter, Hastings stores across the nation are joining forces with award-winning comics publisher Valiant Entertainment for “Comics College” – a fun-filled, educational workshop exploring every corner of the comic book industry! Following in the footsteps of last year’s “The Craft of Comics” series, Hastings is taking fans even deeper into the world of comics with brand-new video seminars that detail all the tricks of the trade – as revealed by one of Valiant’s leading writers or illustrators each week! The month-long “Comics College” in-store event begins on Saturday, January 30th at 2pm ET at a Hastings location near you and continues with new episodes everySaturday through February 20th.

Broadcasting into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “Comics College” offers an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. Featuring a new conversation with a different Valiant creator each week, join us here as some of the brightest talents in comics today examine the most important aspects of working in the comics industry today – from getting your first big break and writing your first script to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike…and much more!

Plus: Valiant is giving each Hastings viewer their shot at their chance to win the prize of a lifetime – their first professional published comics debut – with the official “Comics College” contest! Over the course of the “Comics College” event, aspiring artists nationwide are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. From there, the winning piece will then be published as the official art for Hastings’ exclusive variant cover for the VALIANT: 4001 A.D. FCBD SPECIAL – hitting Hastings stores everywhere for Free Comic Book Day 2016!

Creators scheduled to stream during the workshop include:

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)
Contact your local Hastings location or visit GoHastings.com/ComicsCollege for more details and complete contest guidelines. Beginning on January 30th, prepare yourself for a crash course in making comics like a pro with a priceless treasure trove of behind-the-scenes insights…coming soon to a Hastings location near you!
image

Share: